#### Taylor Community School Corporation Taylor Board Room Wednesday, June 14, 2023 Regular School Board Meeting Minutes 5:30 PM

#### **Board Members Present:**

Dennis Marler, President Bill Brubaker, Vice-President Jennifer Bogue, Secretary

#### **Board Members Absent:**

Dennis Bentzler, Board Member Shawn Haus, Board Member

#### Administration and Central Office Staff Present:

Christopher Smith, Superintendent Melinda Overholser, Recorder Renae Adams, Treasurer Pat Bernotas, Director of Technology Audrey Wunderlich, Special Education Director Steve Dishon, THS Principal Brian Moon, THS Assistant Principal Heather Hord, TMS Principal Matt Brankle, TMS Assistant Principal Jake Leicht, TES Principal Brandon Gleason, TES Assistant Principal Robert Wonnell, TMS/THS Athletic Director

## **Others Present:**

See attached list

## I. Call to Order

#### II. Pledge of Allegiance and Moment of Silence

The regular school board meeting was called to order at 5:40 PM in the Taylor Board Room located at 3750 East 300 South, Kokomo, Indiana. Mr. Marler opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance and a moment of silence.

#### III. Recognition of Visitors

There were no comments or questions from the visitors.

#### IV. Revision and Adoption of Regular and Consent Agenda

Mr. Brubaker moved to approve the regular and consent agenda as presented. Mrs. Bogue seconded the motion. Motion passed 3-0.

#### V. Consent Agenda

- A. Consideration of the Minutes
  - 1. Monday, May 8, 2023 Regular School Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Consideration of the Claims
- C. Consideration to Include Recognition/Information Items in the Official Minutes Personnel Items
- D. Consideration of Overnight. Out-of-State Field Trip Request
- E. Consideration of Personnel Items
  - 1. Termination of Employment

- a. Jessica Little, Part-time Band Assistant
- 2. Resignations
  - a. Dan Rayl, Full-time Custodian
  - b. Jacob DeLion, Middle School Counselor
  - c. Conner Leicht, 5th Grade Teacher
  - d. Robert Wonnell, Middle School Social Studies Teacher
  - e. Jacqueline Meyers, 2nd Grade Teacher
  - f. Abigail Walker, 4th Grade Teacher
  - g. Amy Dill, Part-time Athletic Director Secretary
  - h. Kelsey Brankle, Plato Monitor
  - i. Kris Dill, Varsity Baseball Coach
  - j. Anthony Hoevel, THS Biology Teacher
  - 3. Employment Recommendations
    - a. Corporation Office
      - 1. Summer Painters
        - a. Jim Grossman
        - b. Josh Ousley
      - 2. Matt Nuttall, McKinney Vento Coordinator
      - 3. Technology Summer Temporary Workers
        - a. Grant Gibson
        - b. Elaina Gibson
    - b. Middle School
      - 1. Stephanie Hunt, Full-time Custodian
    - c. High School
      - 1. Lindsay Gibson, Sophomore Class Chair
      - 2. Brittany McCleary, 9th Grade Chair
      - 3. Kathi Minick, 11th Grade Sponsor
      - 4. Regina Decker, 11th Grade Chair
      - 5. Regina Decer, 12th Grade Chair
      - 6. Kelly Hillman, 12th Grade Chair
      - 7. Max Johnson, 12th Grade Sponsor
      - 8. Nick Weicht, 12th Grade Sponsor
      - 9. Don Bennett, Leadership Social Studies
      - 10. Jill Shimer, Leadership Math
      - 11. MaryAnne Dishon, Leadership unified Arts
      - 12. Nick Weicht, Leadership English
      - 13. Patricia Haskett, Leadership SPED
      - 14. Jordyn Dattilo, Science Leadership
      - 15. Denise, Moody, HS Business Teacher
    - d. Transportation
      - 1. Richard Hellmers, Summer School Bus Aide
      - 2. Crystal McGuire, Summer School Bus Driver
      - 3. Angela Dunlap, Summer School Bus Driver
      - 4. Eddie Willoughby, Summer School Substitute Bus Driver
      - 5. Gary Harsh, Bus #4 Route Driver

Mr. Dishon introduced Denise Moody as the new THS Business Teacher and Kelsey Brankle as the new Athletic Director Secretary.

# VI. Information and Recognitions

## A. Financial Reports

The financial reports will be filed, subject to audit.

# VII. New Business

## A. Consideration of TES Student Fees

Mr. Brubaker moved to approve the TES Student Fees as presented. Mrs. Bogue. seconded the motion. Renae Adams explained the changes to the TES student fees. Motion passed 3-0.

# B. Consideration of TMS Student Fees

Mr. Brubaker moved to approve the TMS Student Fees as presented. Mrs. Bogue seconded the motion. Mr. Brankle explained the changes to the TMS fees. Motion passed 3-0.

# C. Consideration of THS Student Fees

Mr. Brubaker moved to approve the THS Student Fees as presented. Mrs. Bogue seconded the motion. Mr. Dishon presented the THS Student Fee changes. Motion passed 3-0.

# D. Consideration of Contract Driver Two Year Contract Extension

Mr. Brubaker moved to approve the contract driver, two-year contract extension as presented. Mrs. Bogue seconded the motion. Motion passed 3-0.

# E. Consideration of Speech Language Pathologist Contract

Mrs. Bogue moved to approve the speech language pathologist contract. Mr. Brubaker seconded the motion. Audrey Wunderlich explained the contract for the new speech language pathologist contract. Motion passed 3-0.

# F. Consideration of New THS Course Approval

Mrs. Bogue moved to approve the new THS course approval as outlined. Mr. Brubaker seconded the motion. Mr. Dishon explained the need for the new 4562-Principles of Business Management Course. Motion passed 3-0.

# G. Consideration of Donation Request

Mrs. Bogue moved to approve the donation request as presented. Mr. Brubaker seconded the motion. Renae Adams explained the donation from Community Howard. Motion passed 3-0.

# H. Consideration of Reversal of Free Kindergarten Fees

Mrs. Bogue moved to approve the reversal of free kindergarten fees. Mr. Brubaker seconded the motion. Renae Adams explained the reason for reversing the Kindergarten Fees. Motion passed 3-0.

# I. Consideration of New Athletic Secretary Job Description

Mrs. Bogue moved to approve the new athletic secretary job description as outlined. Mr. Brubaker seconded the motion. Motion passed 3-0.

## a. Kelsey Brankle, Athletic Secretary

Mrs. Bogue moved to approve Kelsey Brankle as the new athletic secretary. Mr. Brubaker seconded the motion. Motion passed 3-0.

# A. Consideration of Updated Indiana Online Academy Contract

Mrs. Bogue moved to approve the updated Indiana Online Academy Contract as presented. Renae Adams explained the Indiana Online Academy Contract. Mr. Brubaker seconded the motion. Motion passed 3-0.

## VIII. Other Information

## From Chris Smith:

Taylor School Board received the Exemplary Board Award again for 2023 from the ISBA.

Graduation class of 2023- Graduation was incredible, it was a heartfelt evening of celebrating some amazing kids.

#### From Dennis Marler:

As many already know, last Wednesday we posted that we are seeking a new superintendent. Mr. Smith is retiring and Mr. Dishon will be signing a new superintendent contract. There will be a public hearing on June 23, 2023, at 5:00 PM. There will be a Special Session board meeting on July 6, 2023, at 5:00 PM to approve Steve's new Superintendent contract.

Chris Smith will be retiring in the next few months, he has been at Taylor for 10 years. Bill Brubaker thanked Chris for doing everything that the school board has asked of him.

#### X. Adjournment

# The next regular school board meeting will be Wednesday, July 12, 2023, at 5:30 PM in the Taylor Board Room.

With no other business, Mrs. Bogue moved to adjourn the June board meeting. Mr. Brubaker seconded the motion. Motion passed 3-0. The meeting was adjourned at 6:08 PM.

Dennis L. Marler, President

Jennifer Bogue, Secretary