Taylor Community School Corporation Taylor Boardroom Monday, November 6, 2023 Regular School Board Meeting Minutes 5:35 PM

Board Members Present:

Dennis Marler, President Bill Brubaker, Vice President Jennifer Bogue, Secretary (virtual) Dennis Bentzler, Board Member Shawn Haus, Board Member

Administration and Central Office Staff Present:

Steve Dishon, Superintendent
Melinda Overholser, Recorder/Secretary
Renae Adams, Treasurer
Pat Bernotas, Technology Director
Brandon Gleason, THS Principal
Brian Moon, THS Assistant Principals
Jake Leicht, TMS/THS Athletic Director
Heather Hord, TMS Principal
Jake Leicht, TES Principal

Others Present:

See attached list

I. Call to Order

II. Pledge of Allegiance and Moment of Silence

The regular school board meeting was called to order at 5:35 PM in the Taylor Boardroom, located at 3750 E 300 S., Kokomo, Indiana. Mr. Marler opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance and a moment of silence.

III. Recognition of Visitors

There were no comments from the visitors.

IV. Adoption of Consent and Regular Agenda

Mr. Haus made a motion to accept the regular and consent agenda as presented. Mr. Bentzler seconded the motion. Motion passed 5 -0.

V. Consent Agenda

- A. Consideration of Approval of Board Meeting Minutes
 - 1. Wednesday, October 11, 2023 Executive Session Meeting Minutes
 - 2. Wednesday, October 11, 2023 Regular School Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Consideration of Approval of the Claims
- C. Consideration of Field Trip Request
 - 1. TMS/THS Choir. Out-of-State Field Trip
- D. Consideration to Include Recognitions/Information Items in Official Minutes
- E. Consideration of Approval of Personnel Items
 - 1. Resignations
 - a. Truman Bennet, THS Math Teacher
 - 2. Termination of Employment
 - a. Haylee (Dakota) Reason, THS Guard Instructor

3. Employment Recommendations

- a. Elementary School
 - 1. Erin Chrzanowski
 - 2. Teresa Helms, TES PBIS Steering Committee
 - 3. Melissa Kunkle, TES PBIS Steering Committee
 - 4. Angel Morris, TES PBIS Steering Committee
- b. High School
 - 1. Jill Shimer, Calculus Prep Period Buyout
 - 2. Nick Weicht, English/LA Prep Period Buyout
 - 3. Stiner Richey, Theatre Tech Club
 - 4. Stiner Richey, High School Drama Club
- c. Transportation
 - 1. Ben Hartman, Bus #14 Route Driver
- d. Athletics
 - 1. Felix Perez, MS Football Assistant Coach
 - 2. Scott Marini, Boys 6th Grade Basketball Coach

VI. Information

A. Financial Reports

The financial reports will be filed, subject to audit.

B. Donation to First Year Teachers from Eastern Star

Laura Mansur and other members of Eastern Star presented the first year teachers: Angel Morris, Whitney Gleason, Chris Neirman, Magie Riddle and Briker Stayrooker a check for \$100 each to put towards items for their respective classrooms.

VII. New Business

A. Consideration of Resolution of Inter-Fund Transfers of Funds

Mr. Bentzler moved to approve the resolution of Inter-Fund Transfer of Funds. Mr. Haus seconded the motion passed. Motion passed 5-0.

B. Consideration of Additional Appropriation Resolution/Ordinance

Mr. Haus moved to approve the additional appropriation resolution/ordinance as presented. Mr. Bentzler seconded the motion. Motion passed 5-0.

C. Consideration of Resolution of Transfer from Education Fund to Rainy Day Fund

Mr. Bentzler moved to approve the resolution of transfer from Education Fund to Rainy Day Fund as presented. Mr. Haus seconded the motion. Motion passed 5-0.

Consideration of 2023-2024 TEA Agreement Master Agreement

Mr. Haus moved to approve the ratification of the 2023-2024 TEA Master agreement as presented. Mr. Bentzler seconded the motion. Motion passed 5-0.

D. Consideration of the Classified Staff Salary Increase

Mr. Haus moved to approve the Classified Staff Salary increase as presented. Mr. Brubaker seconded the motion. Motion passed 3-0, with Dennis and Jennifer abstaining.

E. Consideration of the 2023-2024 Classified Staff Salary Scale

Mr. Bentzler moved to approve the 2023-2024 Classified Staff Salary Scale as presented. Mr. Brubaker seconded the motion. Motion passed 3-0, with Dennis and Jennifer abstaining.

F. Consideration of the Administration Staff Stipend and Salary Increase

Mr. Brubaker moved to approve the administration staff stipend and salary increase as presented. Mr. Haus seconded the motion. Motion passed 5-0.

G. Consideration of the Superintendent's Stipends

Mr. Haus moved to approve the Superintendent Stipend as presented. Mr. Brubaker seconded the motion. Motion passed 5-0.

H. Consideration of the Contract Bus Driver Bonus

Mr. Haus moved to approve the contract bus driver bonus as presented. Mr. Brubaker seconded the motion. Motion passed 5-0.

I. Consideration of Maxim Contract for Occupational Therapy Services

Mr. Brubaker moved to approve the Maxim Contact for Occupational Therapy Services. Mr. Bentzler seconded the motion. Motion passed 5-0.

J. Consideration of Revision to the Procedure for Student Meal Accounts

Mr. Haus moved to approve the revision to the procedure for student meal accounts as written. Mr. Brubaker seconded the motion. Motion passed 5-0.

K. Consideration of TES, TMS, THS Student Handbook Policy Update

Mr. Brubaker moved to approve the TES, TMS and THS Student Handbook Policy Updates. Mr. Haus seconded the motion. Motion passed 5-0.

VIII. Other Information:

Items from the Superintendent:

- -Steve Dishon and Matt Ward went to an aggressive person tabletop discussion at Ivy Tech to deal with how to deal with aggressive behaviors in the school building. Both Steve and Matt will also be attending safety specialist training next month.
- -The TEA members and admin members met to discuss next year's school calendar. The 2-24-2025 school calendar will be brought back for approval at the December board meeting.

VIII. The next regular school board meeting will be Wednesday, December 13, 2023 at 5:30 PM in the Taylor Boardroom.

IX. Adjournment

With no other business, Mr. Brubaker moved to adjourn the November board meeting. Mr. Haus seconded the motion. Motion passed 5-0. The meeting was adjourned at 6:08 PM.

Dennis L. Marler, President	Jennifer Bogue, Secretary